Happy Birthday, Mom!

A true, and funny, poem dedicated to my mom, who recently turned 47!

A mother cannot be explained

But she can be described

A mother is a full round perfect specimen

Only thought lower by our ever-faltering minds

A mother’s love is immeasurable

If it can, then it undoubtedly stops somewhere

And we all know a mother’s love is limitless;

The love from my mother comes in all shapes and sizes

From big, triangular sandwiches to small, circular pancakes

My mother is proof that, yes, they

Do have the ability to to turn nightmares to dreams

When I’m sick or depressed

She’s the first to know

The invisible ribbon which grips us both

– Her greatest spy and my reluctant ally –

Is the vessel through which I silently call her at times of need

And even though she sometimes acts the same

Like that character voiced by Ellen McLain

But come hell or high-water

I will always and forever love my mother!

Happy 47th!

Leave a Reply

