Daily Prompt: Whoa!

Whoa! What’s the Most Surreal Experience You’ve Had?

There are two, and here they are:

1) The day promised to start out as any another. Had I known it would play a cruel trick on me, I would’ve been more aware, more alert. I got up and did the usual; bathroom, brush my teeth, made noodles and tea, switch on the laptop etc… Halfway through the film I kept hearing a distinct sound of a cat meowing. Thinking it must be coming from the outside, I ignored it. As soon as I picked up my tea mug to drink it, a white Persian cat quickly leapt onto the table, on the exact spot where the mug was prior. For several minutes I kept staring at it, totally in a daze, flabbergast. I didn’t know what to do. It was then my sister walked in and announced we had bought ourselves a pet cat yesterday while I was sleeping. Boy, didn’t see it coming at all! 🙂

2) This happened when I was probably around 13-14 years old. I was playing cricket with my friends, and I was the catcher. I was standing near the boundary line. Since we were making a lot of noise, many of the people were watching us through their apartment windows. Suddenly, before I even knew what was happening, the ball was flying towards me. My team-mates were shouting at me to catch it. I jumped in the air and caught the ball and fell on the rocky ground. When I got up, bruised and bloody, I was expecting cheers and congratulatory hugs, but none came. They kept staring at me as if I had done something unusual. In fact, I had done something unusual. You see, I had somehow managed to do a backward somersault in the air and land on the ground on my butt. I still to this day have no idea how I did it, how it happened, but I do remember everyone running towards me and congratulating me on that “cool stunt”…. Surreal? You bet your trousers it was!

Leave a Reply

